IAP logo UniBonn logo
EnglishDeutsch
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Quantum technologies

Dieter Meschede's research group
Home Cavity QED Quantum jumps
Print

Quantum Jumps

Cesium has two long-lived hyperfine ground-states. Choosing the frequency of the probe laser and the length of the cavity correctly we can couple one ground-state to the cavity field. An atom being in this coupled gound-state will reduce the probe laser transmission while an atom in the other (non coupled) ground-state will not affect the probe transmission. Via a quantum nondemolition measurement we can deduce the spin state of the atom by looking at the transmitted probe light.

We can design our system such that one atom randomly jumps from the coupled to the non coupled state by cyclic photon scattering processes. This leads to so called quantum jumps and random telegraph signals in the probe laser transmission (see following data).

alt
When we couple two atoms to the cavity field the system becomes more interesting. With a proper choice of settings we can distinguish between three cases:
  • no atom couples     ⇒   full transmission
  • one atom couples   ⇒   intermediate transmission
  • both atoms couple  ⇒   low transmission
The data below (part a) of the figure) shows a typical transmission trace when two atoms undergo quantum jumps inside our cavity.
alt
From the data it becomes clear that the three described cases cannot be distinguished as easily as in the one atom case. One major factor that causes noise in the two-atom-case is the thermal movement of the atoms in the cavity field which leads to a variation in the coupling strength and therefore in the measured transmission.

However we can extract the maximum information from our system by employing a Bayesian update formalism which yields time-dependent probabilities for the atoms to be in the coupled or non coupled states. Part b) of the figure shows the result of such an analysis where pi(t) denotes the probability to have i atoms in the coupled state. Part c) shows a digitized version of the data which can be concluded from part b).

Read here how we use the knowledge gained from the Bayesian update formalism to manipulate the spin states of the atoms at will by a feedback loop.

IAP logo UniBonn logo
EnglishDeutsch
  • Schrift vergrößern
  • Standard-Schriftgröße
  • Schriftgröße verkleinern

Quantentechnologie

Dieter Meschedes Forschungsgruppe
Home Resonator-QED Quantensprünge
Drucken

Quantensprünge

Caesium besitzt zwei langlebige Hyperfein-Grundzustände. Wenn wir die Frequenz des Test-Lasers und die Länge des Resonators richtig wählen, können wir einen dieser Grundzustände an das Resonatorfeld koppeln. Ein Atom im gekoppelten Grundzustand unterdrückt die Test-Laser Transmission, wo hingegen ein Atom im anderen (entkoppelten) Grundzustand die Test-Laser-Transmission nicht beeinflusst. Durch eine zerstörungsfreie Quantenmessung ermitteln wir den Spin-Zustand des Atoms, indem wir die Transmission des Test-Lasers analysieren.

Wir können unser System so präparierien, dass ein Atom - durch zyklische Photonen-Streuprozesse getrieben - zufällig zwischen dem gekoppelten und entkoppelten Grundzustand hin- und herspringt. Dies führt zu so genannten Quantensprüngen und zufälligen Telegraphensignalen, die durch die Test-Laser Transmission beobachtet werden können (s. folgende Messdaten).

alt
Wenn wir zwei Atome an das Feld des Resonators koppeln, wird das System noch interessanter. Bei richtig gewählten experimentellen Parametern können wir drei Fälle voneinander unterscheiden.
  • kein Atom koppelt        ⇒   maximale Transmission
  • ein Atom koppelt          ⇒   mittlere Transmission
  • beide Atome koppeln  ⇒   minimale Transmission
Die unten gezeigten Messdaten (Teil a) des Bildes) geben ein typisches Beispiel für eine Transmissions-Spur, wenn zwei Atome Quantensprünge innerhalb des Resonators ausführen.
alt
Es wird klar, dass die Daten nicht so einfach analysiert werden können, wie es im stufenförmigen Ein-Atom-Fall möglich ist. Der größte Störfaktor im Zwei-Atom-Fall ist die thermische Bewegung der Atome im Resonator-Feld, die zu einer Variation der Kopplungsstärke und damit zu einer Variation der gemessenen Transmission führt.

Dennoch können wir die maximale Information aus unserem System extrahieren, indem wir einen Update-Formalismus nach Bayes anwenden. Dieser liefert die zeitabhängige Wahrscheinlichkeit pi(t) (s. Teil b)), die angibt wie viele Atome sich im koppelnden Zustand befinden. Teil c) zeigt eine digitalisierte Version der Daten, welche mit Hilfe von Teil b) ermittelt werden kann.

Aktuell beschäftigen wir uns damit, den Bayes Update Formalismus in Echtzeit anzuwenden, um das dadurch gewonnen Wissen über das System für eine gezielte Manipulation der atomaren Spinzustände zu nutzen.

 

Offene Projekte

Vorträge